Team Members

The HKPORI Research Team has accumulated more than 30 years of experience since it was established in 1991 at The University of Hong Kong. When it spun off from the University in 2019, it had practically retained the entire staff and undergone a seamless transition in terms of leadership, staffing, expertise, service quality and development philosophy. HKPORI now has different arms of operation handling public opinion research, market research, policy research, electronic voting, civil engagement, panel study, election study, deliberation study, consultancy study, data archiving, big data mining, regional networking, international cooperation, and many others. Integrity and Quality (IQ) continue to be the motto of the Research Team.

Since its establishment, the Research Team has been providing quality services to a wide range of public and private organizations. Up to this day, the team has conducted more than 2,000 independent surveys and other kinds of research, working with academics in Hong Kong, Mainland China and overseas, government departments, public organizations, non-government organizations, professional bodies, political groups, leading commercial firms, small-medium enterprises as well as local and overseas media organizations.

In terms of leadership, HKPORI is led by its President and Chief Executive Officer Dr Robert CHUNG, assisted by Deputy Chief Executive Director Dr Kim-Wah CHUNG, Director Ms Karie PANG and Senior Manager Ms Winnie LEE. As of this date, it has 18 members taking up various functions plus a frontline research team of more than 100 part-time interviewers. HKPORI is in control of about 40 interviewer workstations at any single fieldwork date in its headquarters, plus about 20 more temporary workstations if needed. About 60% of its interviewers are tertiary-educated, including one-tenth of whom having higher degrees. Besides, there is a small number of disabled persons referred to HKPORI by some local non-government organizations under some collaborative schemes. They are well-tained and very experienced, but their education attainment is generally lower. The average working experience of our interviewers is around 5 years.

Core Leadership

Dr Robert CHUNG, President and Chief Executive Officer, established the Public Opinion Programme at The University of Hong Kong (HKUPOP) in 1991 and then the Hong Kong Public Opinion Research Institute (HKPORI) in 2019. Under his leadership, the research team straddling these two institutes has become well-known for its impartiality and professionalism in collecting, studying and interpreting public opinion, and is a highly respected team in the region. Dr CHUNG was the Hong Kong representative at the World Association for Public Opinion Research (WAPOR) for over 20 years. Between 2006 and 2007, he was the elected Secretary-Treasurer of WAPOR and later elected to the Chair of the Liaison Committee of WAPOR from 2010 to 2015. He is the elected Vice President & President-Elect of WAPOR from 2021 to 2022, and will become its President from 2023 to 2024. In November 2017, Dr CHUNG was elected the Founding President of the WAPOR Asia, a regional chapter of WAPOR. Dr CHUNG has published widely on public opinion and social surveys in various journals and periodicals.

Dr Kim-Wah CHUNG, Deputy Chief Executive Officer, was the Assistant Professor of the Department of Applied Social Sciences (APSS) at the Hong Kong Polytechnic University until he retired in January 2020. He was also the Director of the Centre for Social Policy Studies of the Department of APSS from 2009 to 2020. Dr CHUNG is an experienced social worker, and with his expertise in Social Policy and Public Administration, he has extensive teaching experiences on related subjects. He has been actively involved in the professional community, as board and committee members of various non-government organizations and public bodies. He is also an advisory member to various innovative social service projects. Upon his retirement from the university, he joined HKPORI as its Deputy CEO. He is also the Adjunct Associate Professor of the Felizberta Lo Padilla Tong School of Social Sciences, Caritas Institute of Higher Education. All in all, Dr CHUNG has over 30 years of experience in the field of social work and research. His research interests include housing policy, elderly care, health care policy, social security and comparative policy analysis.

Ms Karie PANG, Director (Research & Fieldwork), joined the team in 1997 as a Research Executive and proceeded to become its Assistant Director from 2008 to 2019. Ms PANG graduated with a B.B.A. (First Class) degree majoring in Marketing and obtained an M.A. degree in Journalism subsequently, both from The Chinese University of Hong Kong. Ms PANG managed practically all research projects of the team since she became its Programme Manager in 2000 and she has about 25 years of experience in the research field up to this date, including numerous projects on organization perception surveys. Her major research interests include media performance, social policy, consumer behavior and public opinion research methods.

Ms Winnie LEE, Senior Manager (Research & Administration), graduated with a B.Sc. degree in Psychology from the University of Warwick in the United Kingdom (UK) and obtained an M.Sc. degree in Health Psychology from the City University London in the UK. Before joining the team in 2008, Ms LEE has gained 3 years of solid experience in academic and social research so altogether she has been working in the research field for about 16 years. She is well equipped with both quantitative and qualitative research skills. Her major research interests include social behaviors, health and life quality, and applied psychology.

Click to access the login or register cheese

研究隊員

香港民意研究所研究團隊自1991年在香港大學成立以來,已積累超過30年的經驗。團隊在2019年離開香港大學時,幾乎保留了所有員工,並在領導層、人員編配、專業知識、服務質量和發展理念方面無縫交接。香港民意研究所現時有不同的運作部門,分別處理民意研究、市場研究、政策研究、電子投票、公民參與、組群研究、選舉研究、慎思研究、顧問研究、數據歸檔、數據探勘、地區連結、國際合作及其他項目。誠信和質素(IQ)繼續是研究團隊的座右銘。

自成立以來,研究團隊一直為各種公共及私營機構提供優質服務。至今,該團隊已進行了超過2000項獨立調查和其他類型的研究,分別與香港、大陸以及海外的學術機構、政府部門、公共組織、民間組織、專業團體、政治團體、業內領先的商業機構、中小企業以及各地新聞媒體合作無間。

領導階層方面,香港民意研究所由主席兼行政總裁鍾庭耀博士領導,副行政總裁鍾劍華博士、總監彭嘉麗女士及高級經理李頴兒女士協助管理。截至目前,它有18名研究隊員擔任不同崗位,和一個超過100名兼職訪員組成的前線研究團隊。在每個工作天,研究所可於其總部動用大約40 個訪員工作台。如有需要,可再增加上大約20個臨時工作台。訪員當中大約60%接受過高等教育,其中大約十分之一擁有高等學位。此外,尚有小部分訪員是經由一些本地非政府組織根據一些合作計劃轉介予香港民意研究所的殘疾人士。雖然他們的教育程度普遍較低,但他們擁有良好的修養和非常豐富的經驗。研究所訪員的平均年資大約是5年。

領導核心

鍾庭耀博士,主席及行政總裁,於1991年成立香港大學民意研究計劃,然後於2019年成立香港民意研究所。於鍾博士的領導下,團隊在收集、研究和解讀民意方面的公正性和專業性已廣為人知,是地區內備受尊重的團隊。鍾博士擔任世界民意研究學會(WAPOR)香港代表超過20年。在2006年至2007年期間,他當選為學會的書記兼司庫,隨後於2010年至2015年期間當選為學會的聯絡委員會主席。2021年至2022年,他當選為學會的副主席暨候任主席,並將於2023年至2024年成為該會主席。2017年11月,鍾博士被選為世界民意研究學會亞洲 分會的創會主席。鍾博士經常於不同雜誌和期刊上發表關於民意研究的文章。

鍾劍華博士,副行政總裁,曾任香港理工大學應用社會科學系(APSS)助理教授,直至2020年1月退休。鍾博士於2009年至2020年期間擔任應用社會科學系社會政策研究中心主任。鍾博士是一位經驗豐富的社會工作者,憑藉其在社會政策和公共行政方面的專業知識,他在相關科目上有豐富的教學經驗。他一直積極參與專業團體的工作,擔任多個非政府組織和公共機構的董事會及委員會成員。鍾博士亦為多個創新社會服務項目的顧問成員。從大學退休後,鍾博士加入香港民意研究所,擔任副行政總裁。他亦是明愛專上學院湯羅鳳賢社會科學院的兼職副教授。總括來說,鍾博士於社會工作和研究領域有超過30年經驗。他的研究興趣包括房屋政策、老年人護理、醫療保健政策、社會保障和比較政策分析。

彭嘉麗女士,總監(研究與實作),1997年加入團隊,擔任研究幹事,2008年至2019年擔任助理總監。彭女士畢業於香港中文大學,並先後取得工商管理學士(一級)學位及傳播文學碩士學位。彭女士自2000年擔任項目經理以來,幾乎管理了團隊所有的研究項目,迄今為止,她在研究領域擁有約25年經驗,包括多項關於組織認知調查項目。她的主要研究興趣包括媒體表現、社會政策、消費者行為和公眾意見研究方法。

李頴兒女士,高級經理(研究與行政),畢業於英國華威大學,獲得心理學學士學位,並在英國倫敦城市大學獲得健康心理學碩士學位。在2008年加入本團隊之前,李女士已在學術和社會研究方面獲得3年的實際經驗,因此她在研究領域方面約有16年經驗。她同時具備定量和定性研究技能。她的主要研究興趣包括社會行為、健康和生活質素,以及應用心理學。


Click to access the login or register cheese