Biography of Team Members

Biography of Dr Robert Ting-Yiu Chung

Dr Robert Chung is the President and Chief Executive Officer of Hong Kong Public Opinion Research Institute (PORI). He was the Director of Public Opinion Programme (POP) at The University of Hong Kong (HKU) before it spun off from the University. Dr Chung joined the Social Sciences Research Centre, HKU in 1987 when it was founded. In 1991 he established the POP within the Social Sciences Research Centre, a unit under the Faculty of Social Sciences of HKU, and began to study the development of public opinion in Hong Kong. POP was transferred to the Journalism and Media Studies Centre in HKU in May 2000 and was transferred back to the Faculty of Social Sciences, HKU in January 2002. Under his leadership, POP under HKU or PORI has become well known for its impartiality and professionalism in collecting, studying and interpreting public opinion in Hong Kong, and is a highly respected programme in the region. Up to this date, HKPOP has conducted more than 2,000 independent surveys, covering media development, electoral studies, policy issues, and youth studies. POP’s output is widely covered by the media and frequently cited in academic publications. Dr Chung has written numerous articles on public opinion and social surveys published in various journals and periodicals. He is also a member of the Editorial Board of the International Journal of Public Opinion Research.

Dr Chung was also the Warden of RC Lee Hall in The University of Hong Kong, a Panelist of Television Programme Advisory Panel of Radio Television Hong Kong (RTHK), a Panelist of the Television Programme Appreciation Index Research Panel and a Committee Member of the Specialized Committee on Social Development of the Hong Kong Council of Social Service. From 1993 to 1994, Dr Chung served as a part-time community panelist of the Central Policy Unit of the Hong Kong Government. He then became a part-time member of the Central Policy Unit between 1994 and 1999. Between 1997 and 2003, he served as a member of the Community Research Sub-committee of the Citizens Advisory Committee on Community Relations of the Independent Commission Against Corruption (ICAC), and a member of the Citizens Advisory Committee on Community Relations. Dr Chung has been the Hong Kong representative at the World Association for Public Opinion Research (WAPOR) for a number of years. Between 2006 and 2007, he was the elected Secretary-Treasurer of WAPOR and he has been elected to the Chair of the Liaison Committee of WAPOR from 2010 to 2015. In November 2017, Dr CHUNG was elected the Founding President of the WAPOR Asia, a regional chapter of WAPOR. In 2020, he has been elected as the Vice President & President-Elect of WAROR from 2021 to 2022, then will become its President from 2023-2024. He is now a member of the Editorial Board of the International Journal of Public Opinion Research.

Biography of Dr Kim-Wah Chung

Dr Kim-Wah Chung is the Deputy Chief Executive Officer Deputy Chief Executive Officer of Hong Kong Public Opinion Research Institute. Dr Kim-wah Chung has been the Assistant Professor of the Department of Applied Social Sciences until January 2020. He was also the Director of the Centre for Social Policy Studies of the Department of APSS from 2009 to 2020. With his expertise in Social Policy and Public Administration, he has extensive teaching experiences on related subjects. He has actively involved in the professional community, as board and committee members of various NGOs and public bodies. He is also an advisory member to various innovative social service projects. Upon his retirement, he joined the Hong Kong Public Opinion Research Institute (PORI), first as Deputy Director and now the Deputy Chief Executive Officer. He is also the Adjunct Associate Professor of the Felizberta Lo Padilla Tong School of Social Sciences, Caritas Institute of Higher Education.

Biography of Ms Karie Ka-Lai Pang

Ms Karie PANG joined HKUPOP in 1997 as a research executive and became its Assistant Director since 2008 till 2019. She is currently the Director (Research & Fieldwork) of HKPORI. Ms PANG graduated with a B.B.A. (First Class) degree majoring in Marketing and obtained an M.A. degree in Journalism subsequently, both from The Chinese University of Hong Kong. Ms PANG managed practically all research projects of HKUPOP since she became its Programme Manager in 2000 and she has over 20 years of experience in the research field up to date. Her major research interests include media performance, social policy, consumer behavior and public opinion research methods.

Biography of Ms Winnie Wing-Yi Lee

Ms Winnie LEE graduated with a B.Sc. degree in Psychology from the University of Warwick in the UK and obtained an M.Sc. degree in Health Psychology from the City University London in the UK. Ms LEE HKUPOP in 2008 as a research executive, she is currently a Senior Manager (Research & Administration) of HKPORI. Altogether Ms LEE has been working in the research field for over 15 years. Her major research interests include social behaviors, health and life quality, and applied psychology.  

Biography of Mr Edward Chit-Fai Tai

Mr Edward TAI joined HKUPOP in 2008, and is currently a Manager (Data Science) of HKPORI. Mr Tai graduated with a B.Sc. degree in Statistics from the Chinese University of Hong Kong. He is mainly responsible for the analysis of the public opinion data, and focus on both time series analyses, regression analyses and indexes building.

Biography of Mr Frank Wai-Kin Lee

Mr Frank LEE graduated from the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology with a B.Sc. degree and subsequently obtained an M.Sc. degree in Sociology from The Chinese University of Hong Kong. Mr LEE joined HKUPOP in 2006 and has gained very solid experience in the field of opinion research since then. Before that, he had worked at the Hong Kong Baptist University as a Research Assistant for a period of 3 years. Altogether, Mr LEE has been a researcher for over 17 years by now and he is now a Manager (Research & Fieldwork) of HKPORI. His major research interests include political and social opinion research, as well as election system and behaviors.

Click to access the login or register cheese

研究隊員簡歷

鍾庭耀博士簡歷

鍾庭耀博士現為香港民意研究所主席及行政總裁。鍾庭耀博士之前為香港大學民意研究計劃總監,鍾博士於1987年香港大學社會科學研究中心成立時加入香港大學,並於1991年在該中心成立民意研究計劃,開始收集民意數據,研究及分析香港的民意發展,於2000年5月鍾博士及其領導的民意研究計劃轉往香港大學新聞及傳媒研究中心,及至2002年1月,民意研究計劃再轉回香港大學社會科學學院管轄。2019年7月,研究計劃脫離香港大學成為獨立研究所,在鍾博士的領導下,無論是在香港大學轄下或獨立研究所,民意研究計劃以公正及專業著稱,是地區內被高度評價的研究計劃。時至今日,民意研究計劃已成功進行了2,000多項調查,包括有關傳媒發展、選舉研究、一般政治議題及青少年發展等調查。民意研究計劃的成果在各大傳媒及學術書籍得到廣泛報導及轉載。鍾博士亦曾於不少書籍及刊物發表有關民意研究及社會調查的文章及評論,現為《世界民意研究期刊》的編輯委員會成員。

鍾博士過往曾兼任香港大學利銘澤堂舍監,本地公職包括香港電台電視節目顧問團顧問、香港電台電視節目欣賞指數調查顧問團顧問及香港社會服務聯會社會發展專責委員會委員;在1993年至1994年,鍾博士曾出任香港政府中央政策組之座談會成員,進而在1994年至1999年間出任香港政府中央政策組兼職顧問;在1997至2003年間,鍾博士亦曾出任香港廉政公署社區關係市民諮詢委員會以及社區關係市民諮詢委員會之社區研究小組委員會委員。國際事務方面,鍾博士曾任世界民意研究學會(WAPOR)香港地區代表多年,在2006至2007年期間獲選擔任世界民意研究學會書記兼財務總監,並由2010年至2015年擔任世界民意研究學會的聯絡委員會主席。於2017年,鍾博士獲選為世界民意研究學會亞洲分會(WAPOR Asia)的創會主席。鍾博士於2020年獲選於2021至2022年擔任世界民意研究學會(WAPOR)副會長及將於2023至2024年擔任該會會長。鍾博士現是亦為國際民意研究學報編輯委員會成員。

鍾劍華博士簡歷

鍾劍華博士現為香港大學民意研究計劃副行政總裁。鍾劍華博士過往擔任香港理工大學應用社會科學系的助理教授,直到2020年。在2009至2020年期間,亦擔任APSS系社會政策研究中心總監。憑藉其社會政策和公共管理的專業知識,他擁有相關方面豐富的教學經驗。他在專業領域內甚為活躍,積極參與各種慈善組織和公共機構的董事局和委員會,還是多個創新社會服務項目的顧問成員。退休後,他加入了香港民意研究所(PORI),最初是副主任,現在是副首席執行官。現時他是明愛專上學院湯羅鳳賢社會科學院客席副教授。

彭嘉麗小姐簡歷

彭嘉麗小姐於1997年加入香港大學民意研究計劃出任研究幹事並於2008至2019年出任為助理總監,現為香港民意研究所總監 (研究及實作) 。彭小姐畢業於香港中文大學,並先後取得工商管理學士學位(甲級)及傳播文學碩士學位。自2000年起,民研計劃絕大部分的研究項目皆由彭小姐負責統籌及管理,在各方面研究及統籌有超過20年經驗。其主要研究興趣為新聞學、傳媒發展、消費行為、及民意應用研究。

李頴兒小姐簡歷

李頴兒小姐畢業於英國University of Warwick,取得心理學理學士學位,其後於英國倫敦City University獲得健康心理學碩士學位。李小姐於2008年加入港大民研計劃任職研究經理,現為香港民意研究所高級經理 (研究及行政)。李小姐於研究工作方面有超過15年經驗,其主要研究興趣包括社會行為、健康及生活質素、及應用心理學。

戴捷輝先生簡歷

戴捷輝先生於2008年加入香港大學民意研究計劃,現職為香港民意研究所經理 (數據科學)。戴先生於香港中文大學統計學系學士畢業,現主要負責分析民意數據,並專注於時間序列、迴歸分析及建立指數模型。

李偉健先生簡歷

李偉健先生先後畢業於香港科技大學及香港中文大學,取得學士及社會學碩士學位。李先生於2006年加入港大民研計劃,於加入港大民研之前曾於香港浸會大學任職3年研究助理,在研究工作方面有超過17年工作經驗,現職為香港民意研究所經理 (研究及實作)。其主要研究興趣包括政治和社會民意研究,及選舉制度和行為等。

Click to access the login or register cheese