“Community Integration through Civility and Democracy” Project Series (the “Community Democracy Project”)

LATEST REPORT: Research Report No. 66: “Community Health Module” No. 62 Research Report
Presentation Slides (pdf format only)

“Community Integration through Civility and Democracy”
(the “Community Democracy Project”)

Project Outline ( version of 2020.1.10 )

Introduction

§ With the completion of the 2019 District Council Election, the Hong Kong Public Opinion Program (HKPOP) under the governance of the Hong Kong Public Opinion Research Institute (HKPORI) has decided to launch the “Community Integration through Civility and Democracy, CICD” Project (or the “Community Democracy Project” or “Project CD” or “Project CICD” or “民主社區互助共融計劃” in Chinese) in order to bring Hong Kong to new heights in terms of civility and democracy.

§ The purpose of the Community Democracy Project is to provide a means for Hongkongers to re-integrate ourselves through mutual respect, rational deliberations, civilized discussions, personal empathy, social integration, and when needed, resolution of conflicts through democratic means. It is the rebuilding of our Hong Kong society starting from the community level following the spirit of science and democracy. We shall stand firm to defend our liberty, but we shall also bear the responsibility of proving ourselves worthy of such liberties. Unity in diversity is our ideal.

District Councilors as Key Leaders

§ Community Democracy would engage Hongkongers across all communities in a modern and brand-new way via the leadership of individual District Councilors within their own service districts and the Chairmen of District Councils where overall macroscopic development is concerned. HKPOP will therefore invite all Chairmen of District Councils to form the Advisory Committee of the Community Democracy Project under the auspices of HKPOP. Members of the Advisory Committee, however, can delegate their rights and authorities to their deputies and/or representatives. The Community Democracy Project Advisory Committee will propose and design various initiatives and activities at community and/or territory-wide levels. Individual District Councils and District Councilors may opt to join and implement the initiatives according to their district needs.

§ Under the Community Democracy Project, all District Councilors registered for the Project irrespective of their political inclination and affiliation are entitled to do the following:

  • Send at least one staff or assistant to HKPOP for training as Community Democracy Local Coordinator, who will still be hired and supervised by the councilor concerned and stationed at the councilor’s office;
  • Set up at least one Community Democracy Project service outlet which would be used for collecting public opinions regarding local and territory-wide issues using methods suggested by HKPOP;
  • Conduct physical and online surveys, deliberative meetings, civil referendums, and so on under the guidance of HKPOP using instruments developed by HKPOP;
  • Use district- and territory-based panels of community members established by HKPOP to discuss local issues and territory-wide matters;
  • Promote community cooperation and shared economy riding on the panels of community members mentioned before.

HKPOP as Knowledge and Service Provider

§ In term of resources, the Community Democracy Project would work on a community-based non-profit-making cum self-sustainable principle, independent of the funding system adopted by various District Councils. In other words, participation in the Community Democracy Project by different councilors or the groups they belong to would have zero implication on the funding process of the Councils, which would continue to vet project proposals in exactly the same way as they used to do. Whether HKPOP would participate in those projects is also irrelevant. HKPOP would also not make any profit out of the Community Democracy Project, but would require all project activities to follow the professional guidelines set by HKPOP.

§ Put it in the simplest way, the Community Democracy Project would operate like franchised activities developed by HKPOP only that no franchise fee would be collected by HKPOP. On the contrary, HKPOP would try to generate synergy between communities by developing tools which would help people communicate with each other, help one another, resolve conflicts, develop community-based economy, empower the weak, and create a sense of togetherness through mutual respect and democratic means. HKPOP supporting activities, like staff training, survey services, data analysis, quality control and so on, would be provided on a need basis and charged on a cost-recovery basis.

Young Ambassadors, Senior Mentors, Sponsors and Volunteers

§ To facilitate the smooth running of the Community Democracy Project, HKPOP would employ and deploy “Community Democracy Young Ambassadors” to crisscross between communities to help councilors and residents promote and conduct research under the Community Democracy Project. HKPOP would raise funds from private foundations, conscientious enterprises and generous individuals to cover the employment of Young Ambassadors in order to create synergy among different sectors in the community.

§ Each Young Ambassador would be paid a salary of HK$10,000 per month for 6 months excluding various allowances and provident fund contributions. The total cost for each post is estimated to be HK$90,000 in total to be covered by sponsorship. Any sponsor, say, by the name of ABC who would sponsor more than 10 Young Ambassadors in one go is entitled to name the team as the “ABC Team of Community Democracy Young Ambassadors” in honor of one’s generosity. Moreover, all sponsors can choose to keep in touch with the Young Ambassadors they have sponsored so as to maintain a collegial cum mentoring relationship.

§ In the course of employing and deploying the “Community Democracy Young Ambassadors”, HKPOP would also appoint a group of senior citizens to become “Community Democracy Senior Mentors” so as to work hand in hand with the Young Ambassadors. This would further break the age barrier by sharing a common belief in democracy. These Mentors will not receive any payment or allowance, but they will work with the Young Ambassadors as a team.

§ HKPOP hopes that the Young Ambassadors Scheme would provide employment opportunities for those young people who have worked hard for democracy but may not have received a fair reward. Priority will be given to those in need of material support and immaterial recognition for the sacrifice they have made. Sponsors would be invited to evaluate the need of the young applicants although HKPOP would make the final decision of their employment. HKPOP hopes to provide a chance for these young people to interact and integrate with those people and organizations who really want to help them.

§ Running the Community Democracy Young Ambassadors Scheme and other events requires a lot of manpower, HKPOP hopes to recruit a team of volunteer administrators, event managers, communication experts, infographic designers, fundraisers, among others, to support the project. These volunteers will not receive any payment or allowance, but they will work as a team to make the Community Democracy Project a civic program owned by the civic society.

Activities

§ Online recruitment for Community Democracy Young Ambassadors, Senior Mentors, individual or corporate sponsors, and all types of volunteers has already started in December 2019, via the website at https://www.pori.hk, email address info+cicd@pori.hk and telephone number 3844-3111 calling Mr Lee or Ms Pang.

§ The Community Democracy Project was officially launched in January 2020, it conducted its first round of online opinion survey in early January on the public’s expectation on the roles and functions of District Councilors. Up to 9 January 2020, about 14,000 Hong Kong residents have participated in the survey, among whom over 5,000 provided open-ended answers. Residents generally expected the new District Councilors to review and reform the conventional system and culture of the District Council; to monitor the operation of District Council and government departments; to thoroughly understand the problems and needs of the community and therefore make solution; to adopt an innovative mindset in promoting community development and in improving people’s livelihood; to enhance public participation by different means and collect their views by a bottom-up approach; and to transit community views on controversial issues to the government. (For more details, please see research reports uploaded at pori.hk)

§ The Community Democracy Project was officially launched in January 2020, it conducted its first round of online opinion survey in early January on the public’s expectation on the roles and functions of District Councilors. Up to 9 January 2020, about 14,000 Hong Kong residents have participated in the survey, among whom over 5,000 provided open-ended answers. Residents generally expected the new District Councilors to review and reform the conventional system and culture of the District Council; to monitor the operation of District Council and government departments; to thoroughly understand the problems and needs of the community and therefore make solution; to adopt an innovative mindset in promoting community development and in improving people’s livelihood; to enhance public participation by different means and collect their views by a bottom-up approach; and to transit community views on controversial issues to the government. (For more details, please see research reports uploaded at pori.hk)

§ In light of the public’s expectations on the new District Councilors, and in line with the new roles and functions the the councilors, HKPOP has drafted the following training plans:

Themes Objectives Examples
Residents’ Panel • Handle residents’ contact information systematically
• Collect residents’ data scientifically, in order to track opinion changes
• Information collected from street stations, intake case works, household visit
• Online platforms with high degree of information security
Needs Assessment • Provide representative data to understand community needs, including people’s livelihood, community economy, community service, transport facilities
• Promote community development
• Example: survey on economic pressure of the residents, need for community services
Opinion Polls • Collect views by bottom-up approach
• Provide representative data to understand residents’ views on certain social issues
• Example: public consultation on community development projects
Deliberation Meetings • Public discussion on community issues
• Promote community participation and community democracy
• Example: utility of public space and environmental protection
Participatory Budgeting • Direct participation in setting priorities for public spending
• Encourage democratic deliberation and decision in using public money
• Example: using District Council funding on different items
PopVote (E-voting platform) • Resolving controversial problems by democratic means
• Using citizen authorization as the ground for making decisions
• Example: whether to build public estates in certain places, whether to set up Democracy Walls
Programme Evaluation / Social Impact Assessment • Accountability to residents, reviewing councilors’ performance
• Evaluation on the impacts of proposed projects
• Example: regularly reviews of people’s satisfaction, social impact assessment on different projects
Action Research • Led by residents
• Resolve community problems to empower residents
• Example: residents form research teams to examine and resolve community problems
Knowledge Sharing • Learn the basic knowledge of surveys
• Learn how to design a survey
• Learn the technical skills of surveying
• Learn how to analyze the survey results
• Applied to community surveys
• Understand science and democracy

§ Based on the themes mentioned before, the Community Democracy Project has drafted the following activities:

Early to mid-January: Invite all District Councilors to join the Community Democracy Project
Conduct Community Democracy Surveys, and to invite Councilors from the most popular constituencies to press conferences to react to the survey findings
Organise informal meetings with District Councilors to solicit suggestions for the project
Distribute leaflets to invite people joining district-based PopPanels
February: First wave of trainings (on basic knowledge)
Using “Circular Mail” issued by participating councillors, promotion desks, home visits, floor visits, and so on to recruit residents into district-based PopPanels
March to June: Other training sessions (about one to two sessions per topic, depending on enrolment figures)

First draft dated 28 November 2019
Latest draft dated 10 January 2020

REGISTRATION FORMS
DC/Representative Young Ambassador Senior Mentor Volunteer
 
EXPRESS OF INTEREST IN SPONSORSHIP
Young Ambassador Sponsorship General Sponsorship

Click to access the login or register cheese

「民主社區互助共融」系列

最新報告: 第六十六號研究報告暨「社區健康計劃」第六十二號研究報告
結果簡報 (只提供pdf版)

「民主社區互助共融」計劃

計劃說明 ( 2020.1.10 版本 )

導言

§ 隨著2019年區議會選舉塵埃落定,香港民意研究所轄下之香港民意研究計劃 (香港民研) 決定開展 「民主社區互助共融」計劃,可簡稱為「民主社區計劃」(英文全名為 “Community Integration through Civility and Democracy” Project,英文簡稱為 “Project CD”),為香港的文明和民主發展揭開新一頁。

§ 「民主社區計劃」的宗旨在於為香港人提供平台,透過互相尊重、理性商討、文明討論、同理思維和社交凝聚去重建社會,和在必要時以民主方法排解糾紛。計劃本身是要從社區開始,本著科學與民主精神由下而上重建香港。我們義無反顧地捍衛自由,但我們也有責任證明我們值得享有自由。和而不同,多元團結,是我們的理想。

區議員領導

§ 「民主社區計劃」會透過各個區議員的領導,連結社區成員進行新時代新概念的社區建設。宏觀發展方面,則交由各區議會主席負責帶領。因此,香港民研將會邀請全港十八區區議會主席組成,轄下於香港民意研究所的「民主社區互助共融計劃諮詢委員會」,而他們亦可委派副手及/或其他議員作為代表執行其權利和行使其職權。「民主社區計劃諮詢委員會」的責任在於向各個區議會和區議員建議符合計劃目標的活動設計,包括地區和全港活動,但個別區議會和區議員可以按照其地區需要而選擇是否參與。

§ 登記成為「民主社區」計劃的區議員,不論政治背景和聯繫,一律可以:

  • 派出起碼一名職員或助理到香港民研接受培訓,成為「民主社區計劃」的地區統籌員,而有關統籌員仍然隸屬有關議員的辦事處,由議員聘用及監督;
  • 設立起碼一個「民主社區互助共融服務站」,透過香港民研建議的方法收集有關當區和全港議題的公眾意見;
  • 在香港民研的指引下,使用香港民研開發的工具進行真實訪員和網上調查、商討會議和全民投票等等;
  • 在香港民研建立的意見群組中,包括當區和跨區的社區意見群組,就地區事務和一般社會議題進行交流討論;
  • 透過上述社區群組推動社區合作和共享經濟。

香港民研提供理念及技術支援

§ 就資源而言,「民主社區計劃」將會按照社區性非牟利兼可持續發展的原則進行,獨立於現時區議會的撥款制度。換言之,區議員或所屬團體參與「民主社區計劃」,與區議會撥款無關。區議會可以一如以往審理各種撥款項目,香港民研會否參與該等項目,亦與本計劃無關。香港民研不會從「民主社區計劃」獲利,但會要求有關計劃的所有活動都要遵循香港民研設定的專業準則。

§ 簡而言之,「民主社區計劃」的運作模式,類似由香港民研免費發出特許經營證予各個議員辦事處,進行特許經營活動。免費之餘,香港民研更會透過開發各種工具,致力在不同社群之間產生協同作用,促進社區成員彼此溝通,互相幫助,解決紛爭,發展社區經濟,為弱者充權,以及通過相互尊重和民主方式團結社會。香港民研所提供的支援服務,包括職員培訓、調查服務、數據分析、質素控制等等,全部由需求決定和按照成本收費。

青年大使、銀髮導師、贊助計劃及義工服務

§ 為了配合「民主社區計劃」順利進行,香港民研將會聘用及委派「民主社區青年大使」,穿梭社區之間協助議員和居民,進行「民主社區計劃」的宣傳和研究工作。聘用青年大使的費用,全部由香港民研向私人基金、良心企業和熱心人士進行募捐,以便在社會各個階層產生協同效應。

§ 每名「民主社區青年大使」連續六個月每月支薪港幣一萬元,另加各項津貼和工積金供款。因此,每個職位估計需要籌款港幣九萬元。如果某個人士或機構一次過贊助超過十名青年大使的話,有關人士或機構可以把團隊冠名為「民主社區計劃青年大使XXXX團隊」。此外,所有贊助青年大使的人士或機構,均可與青年大使保持接觸,建立亦師亦友的關係。

§ 在聘用及委派「民主社區青年大使」之餘,香港民研亦會同時委任一批長者作為「民主社區銀髮導師」與青年同行,共享民主理念和進一步打破年齡界限。銀髮導師不收酬勞,沒有津貼,目的只是與青年大使一起工作。

§ 香港民研希望青年大使聘用計劃能夠為一些熱愛民主、作出奉獻但又未得合理回報的年青人,提供一點就業機會。需要物質支持和精神嘉許的年青人,將獲優先取錄。在聘用的過程中,香港民研會徵求贊助人士或機構的意見,但香港民研會保留最終決定權。香港民研希望提供機會,讓年青朋友認識和接觸有心協助他們的人士和機構,凝聚社會新力量。

§ 執行「民主社區青年大使計劃」和其他「民主社區」活動需要大量人手,香港民研希望成立義工團隊,包括行政人員、活動經理、民宣專家、圖表策劃、籌款能手等等,支援整個計劃。義工團隊不收酬勞,沒有津貼,目的只是把「民主社區計劃」變成公民社會的資產。

具體活動

§ 「民主社區計劃」在2019年12月已經開始在網上招募青年大使、銀髮導師、贊助人士、贊助機構和義工團隊,網址為https://www.pori.hk,查詢電郵info+cicd@pori.hk ,查詢電電話 3844-3111 ,聯絡人李先生或彭小姐。

§ 「民主社區計劃」在2020年1月正式啟動,並於1月初發起了首輪網上民調,收集有關市民對新一屆區議會工作期望的意見。截至2020年1月9日,大約有一萬四千名市民參與調查,其中超過五千名市民表達了質性意見。市民普遍期望新一屆區議員檢討和改革區議會舊有的制度和文化,著實監察區議會和政府部門的運作;確切了解社區問題和需要,對症下藥;以創新思維推動社區發展和改善民生;增加公眾參與的渠道,由下而上收集市民意見;就社會具爭議的事件向有關部門表達地區意見。(請到pori.hk下載有關調查報告)

§ 香港民研深信「民主社區計劃」的推展正是予眾新上任之區議員一個契機去達致市民對新一屆區議會的期望,例如為區議員提供培訓學習科學及系統化的收集意見方法、使用香港民研開發的工具進行真實訪員和網上調查、商討會議和全民投票、建立當區和跨區的社區意見群組,就地區事務和一般社會議題進行交流討論等。

§ 針對上述市民對新一屆區議員的期望,及考慮到區議員的職能和角色,香港民研擬提供的培訓項目如下:

培訓項目 目的 實務應用例子
建立數據平台 • 有系統地處理居民聯絡資料
• 科學化收集居民數據,追蹤民意變化
• 透過街站、個案工作、家訪及洗樓形式收集資料
• 在確保信息安全的情況下建構網上平台
評估居民需要 • 提供具代表性的數據,以了解居民需要,包括民生、社區經濟、社區服務、交通配套等
• 推動社區發展
• 例如:居民經濟壓力調查、社區服務需要調查等
諮詢居民意見 • 由下而上收集居民對地區事務的意見
• 提供具代表性的數據,以了解居民對某些議題的想法
• 例如:就一些地區建設項目諮詢居民意見
舉辦慎思會議 • 安排居民就某些地區議題進行商討
• 促進社區參與和民主社區的發展
• 例如:商討公共空間使用、如何建設環保社區
進行參與預算 • 由居民直接參與決定如何分配公共預算
• 鼓勵民主審議及決策過程,善用公帑
• 例如:如何使用區議會撥款
開發投票平台 • 就一些爭議進行表決,促進民主精神
• 獲取民意授權,作為決策的依據
• 例如:是否贊成在某處興建公屋、或設立民主牆
設計項目評估 • 向居民負責,檢討地區工作表現
• 評估個別發展項目帶來的社會影響
• 例如:定期進行工作滿意度調查、及研究發展項目對持份者的影響
制定行動研究 • 以居民參與為主導
• 解決社區問題,為居民充權
• 例如:居民組成團隊就某些社區問題進行研究並商討解決方案
分享基本知識 • 學習基本的調查知識
• 學習調查的設計重點
• 學習調查的一般技巧
• 學習調查的分析方法
• 應用於地區居民調查
• 認識科學與民主精神

§ 針對上述項目,「民主社區計劃」初步擬定的活動日程如下:

1月初至中: 邀請全港就職區議員參加「民主社區計劃」
進行「民主社區計劃」民意調查,並邀請獲得市民最踴躍回應的當區區議員出席記者招待會回應調查結果
舉辦區議員非正式聚會,廣納對計劃的意見
派發宣傳單張,邀請市民登記加入社區群組
2月: 第一輪培訓(基本知識)
由參加計劃的區議員透過通函(Circular Mail)、街站、家訪及洗樓等形式邀請居民登記加入社區群組
3月至6月: 進行其他培訓項目(預計每個項目一至兩場,視乎報名人數而定)

初稿日期:2019年11月28日
最新修訂:2020年1月10日

登記表格
區議員/代表 青年大使 銀髮導師 義工
 

贊助意向申報
青年大使贊助 一般贊助

Click to access the login or register cheese